Frequently Asked Questions

What is Picstars?

Picstars is a Swiss startup. Its unique technology makes it possible for brands to utilise the personal reach of their ambassadors. Picstars offers a way for brands to be present on all of their brand ambassadors’ social media photos and videos in a manner that is targeted and measurable.

Who is behind Picstars?

The former CEO of JobCloud AG, Mark Sandmeier, will take over operational management of Picstars AG on November 1, 2016. The founder and current CEO, Henrik Kammermann, will move from the management to the board of directors and take over the chairmanship. Henrik Kammermann will in his new role as chairman of the board of directors concentrate on new applications and the further development of Picstars’ technology and launching abroad. Currently Picstars consists of two additional founders and three partners.

What is Picstars’ vision?

Picstars unites every brand with perfectly matched ambassadors – and vice versa. Picstars is the largest personal network marketing agency without a single agent.

Is Picstars an another photo app?

No. Thanks to the unique technology of the Picstars app, brands can more effectively and efficiently than ever before use and measure the reach of their ambassadors’ social media photos and videos. By using Picstars Cockpit, a brand manages its campaigns, selects its ambassadors and controls the reach of their photos and videos – live. Picstars is based on the most trusted media channel: the personal reach of a person.

What are the benefits of using Picstars?
  1. For brands:

Nowadays brands only use their existing network (e.g. fan pages) on social media. They have no way of communicating their product via the personal social media photos or videos of their fans and followers on their network. When using Picstars, brands are present on all of the photos and videos of their fans and followers and they are also visible on their networks in a manner that is controllable and measurable. By using Picstars Cockpit a brand manages its campaigns, selects its ambassadors and controls the reach of their photos and videos – live. At the same time, the brand sets the desired reach and pays only for effective performance.

  1. For ambassadors:

Ambassadors use Picstars for their photos and videos, and they receive live updates of any interaction with their posts. The greater the reach, the more they earn.

What does Picstars cost?

Picstars charges a fixed licence fee to set up Picstars Cockpit and the campaign’s upload possibilities. For additional services such as reach, statistics, talent and/or brand consulting, big data and matching, a mark-up of 20% will be charged based on the number/costs of likes, comments and shares.

Is Picstars only in Switzerland?

Picstars has launched its product in the Swiss market, and it will endeavour to enter the market in Germany, Austria and UK in 2017.

Where is Picstars used?

It is used in three cases:

  1. Stars & talents: In the fields of sport and music, stars & talents use Picstars and they are paid by their sponsor (brand) based on their reach and impact via Picstars.
  2. Events & locations: Event participants use Picstars or its functions to share their impressions and experiences with their network. The new event reach exceeds the previous event reach many times over.
  3. Company & product: Companies use Picstars in a targeted manner at events and thereby utilise the reach of their employees or customers, which had previously been completely unutilised even though it is worth its weight in gold – especially in terms of employer attractiveness.
Can Picstars also be integrated in an existing app?

Yes. All Picstars functions can be integrated in any app.

What is an overlay?

An Overlay is a transparent (png) graphic that includes a brand, a logo, and/or an advertising campaign. This Overlay is the one that gets ‘layed’ on top of photos and videos.

Can you help me with the design of my campaign?

Yes we can. We have graphic designer in-house who are specialized in CI and online advertising campaigns. At current stage you can send us a mail with a campaign briefing as detailed as possible. We then get back to you with an estimate.

If I am an event organizer, do you provide me with marketing material?

It’s a good idea to have marketing material in place to actually let your event guests know what they can expect or what prices they can win if using Picstars. We are happy to help you out or even have our graphic designers create something for you.

Do I have a chance to test Picstars before purchasing a product?

Yes. Just login to your (new) cockpit, upload an overlay, invite users to your campaign, and off you go. We will contact you during your ‘test-time’ and talk about possibilities, costs etc.

As a sponsor or brand manager, can I constantly monitor the performance of my photos/videos?

Sure. Each brand-manager has access to his/her own Picstars Cockpit. You will have full control of Campaign Overlays, Costs, Users, Photos/Videos, Reach, etc. You even send performance links to your colleagues.

Events & Locations. What is the difference between the two.

There is no difference. It just describes the event as a concert, competition, etc. taking place, and a location such as a ski resort that has ongoing happenings, news, ambassadors etc.

Can you help explain the difference between the Stars&Talents product and the Company, Employee etc. product? Not seeing much difference except that the cost per like and share is less for Company.

It’s pretty straight forward: As soon as you pay your ambassadors for their Social Media reach (sponsoring) then you will have to use Stars&Talents. In choosing our products such as Event or Employees etc. you will use the same functionalities except that you motivate your ambassadors ‘outside’ the app (example: Win tickets, meet & greet the star etc.)

What does a talent earn through Picstars?

Normally the earnings is something between the brand and their talent. However: The brand pays per reach, Picstars forwards 100% to the talent. The brand pays 20% of the volume as service and licence fees to Picstars.

If an Agency handles everything with a talent, what can the agency earn?

An agency earns a percentage of the additional Ambassador earnings (as agreed between agency and Ambassador). This might be mid-term thinking as most ambassadors already have an obligation to post photos/videos to Social Media with mentioning ‘their’ brand. However, as Social Media reach is purely performance based (content, timing, selected platform, fan base, etc.) the payment/the sponsoring will be so as well. A brand wants to have a controlling instrument such as Picstars’. For an agency it is important to jump on that bandwagon as soon as possible.

Why do I have to publish a photo again, when I want to post it on Instagram?

Instagram does not have an API in place that lets Apps post directly to Instagram nor to receive performance/reach updates per photo/video. Picstars has therefore included the ‘work-around’ as experienced in the App as well has developed a unique photo/video monitoring/measuring tool for Instagram. This is a market new innovation by Picstars. A competitive advantage for sure.

How much does a brand pay for a branded photo posted through an ambassador? What happens if a photo goes viral?

Picstars advises each and every brand to set a limit to each ambassador, photo/video, and/or month. If the limit is reached on a regular base, the limit (we call it ‘the cap’) can be adjusted in order to reach the maximum number of people.

Who owns the cockpit?

The Brand resp. the Picstars Client (in some cases this might be an agency, a re-seller, or an event promoter).

Who owns the photo with overlay? The brand or the talent or the channel?

The owner is always the ambassador who ‘took’ the photo/video. However, the user, when signing up to Picstars, gives Picstars the right to use the content in order to create a benefit for the ambassador (example Follow-X Network). If the brand may/can use the content needs to be agreed between Brand and Ambassador. As soon as posted to Social Media, the rights and policies of the Social Media Platform takes place, Picstars no longer is responsible for any actions related to the photo/video.

Why just the channels Facebook, Twitter and Instagram?

These are the most commonly used SoMe Platforms. Picstars however is flexible to include and integrate various new and upcoming platforms.

When will Video be integrated?

Video will be available November 2016.

How many overlays can I add in my cockpit?

As many as you like. You can even create various campaigns in which you then create fitting overlays per campaign. These can even be planned and timed.

How many people can I invite to a campaign?

You can invite endless of people in a Social Branding Case (Events, Employees, Company). Be aware however, that in case of Stars&Talents, only the selected Stars&Talents can be invited to use ‘their’ campaigns together with their sponsoring amounts/volume.

Is it possible to track likes and shares? To see where they are coming from?

At current stage: no. We are however working on it and will soon have the following in place: See who gets to see your brand, segmentation, location data etc.

Is it possible to ‘buy’ likes?

No, Picstars sees whether the likes are ‘real’ and of high quality or ‘bought’.

Does the brand also pay for likes that are coming from a segment that are not of value to the brand? Example: A photo branded with a Swiss Insurance Logo get likes from Asia?

This ‘spreading loss’ is considered in the pricing. However, we are working on only taking the ‘good’ likes into account.

What is the difference between Picstars and other influencer solutions/companies?

Picstars brings together brand and influencer (ambassador). Picstars with its technology ensures a perfect match between a brand, an ambassador, the instantly posted photo/video content together with the branding campaign. The goal is to get the highest quality ‘word-of-mouth’ on Social Media. Needless to mention that Picstars offers a tool (Cockpit for Brands, App for Ambassadors) and charges for effective reach and performance only.

What is the average income of a Talent per photo/video?

This varies on number of fans/friends and even more so on the quality of posts (photos/videos) the Ambassador posts to his network. That’s the interesting part of it: on Social Media an ambassador is only as good as his posts. With Picstars the brand as well as the ambassador see/learn which posts work well and which not so.

Is there not an overkill of branded photos on Social Media?

Advertising through Word-of-Mouth will always play a huge role, as long as the advertising message is trustworthy. Again, that’s why we put a lot of energy into ‘matching brand and ambassador’ as well as into instant photos/videos.

Can a brand react to a photo/video that is not matching their guidelines or likes?

A Brand has a live overview on what is posted to Social Media together with the ambassadors’ contact details. A brand has the possibility to remove the photo/video and/or to caution an ambassador. However, we have so far not come across any problems in this matter. As long as an ambassador posts with a purpose (to earn money, to win prizes etc.) an abuse is not expected.

Frequently Asked Questions

Was ist Picstars?

Picstars ist ein Schweizer Start-up. Es ermöglicht mit seiner einzigartigen Technologie, Brands die persönliche Reichweite ihrer Ambassadoren zu nutzen. Picstars bietet die Lösung für Brands, auf jeglichen Photos und Videos ihrer Ambassadoren präsent zu sein – gezielt und messbar.

Wer steckt hinter Picstars?

Der ehemalige CEO der JobCloud AG, Mark Sandmeier, übernimmt ab dem 1. November 2016 die operative Führung der Picstars AG. Der Initiant und bisherige CEO, Henrik Kammermann, wechselt von der Geschäftsleitung in den Verwaltungsrat und übernimmt dessen Vorsitz. Henrik Kammermann wird sich in seiner neuen Aufgabe als Verwaltungsratpräsident auf neue Einsatzgebiete und die Weiterentwicklung der Technologie von Picstars sowie die Lancierung im Ausland konzentrieren. Aktuell besteht Picstars aus zwei weiteren Initianten sowie drei Partner.

Was ist die Vision von Picstars?

Picstars bringt jeden Brand mit perfekt passenden Ambassadoren zusammen – und umgekehrt. Picstars ist die grösste Vermarktungsagentur von persönlichen Netzwerken ohne einen einzigen Agenten.

Ist Picstars eine weitere Photo-App?

Nein. Dank der einzigartigen Technologie der Picstars App können Brands die Reichweite der Social Media Photos und Videos ihrer Ambassadoren so effektiv und effizient wie nie zu vor nutzen und messen. Durch den Einsatz des Picstars Cockpit verwaltet der Brand seine Kampagnen, wählt seine Ambassadoren aus und kontrolliert die Reichweite von dessen Photos und Videos – live. Picstars setzt auf die vertrauenswürdigsten Medienkanal – die persönliche Reichweite eines Menschen.

Was ist der Mehrwert von Picstars?
  1. Für Brands:

Heute nutzen Brands auf Social Media lediglich ihr bestehendes Netwerk (i.e. Fanpages). Es gibt für Brands keine Möglichkeit, ihr Produkt via den persönlichen Social Media Photos oder Videos ihrer Fans und Followers an deren Netzwerk zu kommunizieren. Mit Picstars sind Brands auf jeglichen Fotos und Videos ihrer Fans und Followers präsent und so auch sichtbar für deren Netzwerk – kontrolliert und messbar. Durch den Einsatz des Picstars Cockpit verwaltet der Brand seine Kampagnen, wählt seine Ambassadoren aus und kontrolliert die Reichweite von dessen Photos und Videos – live. Gleichzeitig setzt der Brand die gewünschte Reichweite fest und bezahlt nur die effektive Performance.

  1. Für Ambassadoren:

Ambassadoren nutzen Picstars für ihre Photos und Videos und erhalten Live Updates über jegliche Interaktionen ihrer Posts. Je mehr Reichweite sie damit erzielen, desto mehr Verdienst erhalten sie.

Was kostet Picstars?

Picstars berrechnet eine fixe Lizenzfee für das Set-up des Picstars Cockpit und die Upload-Möglichkeiten der Kampagnen. Für zusätzliche Services wie Reichweite, Statistics, Beratung von Talent und/oder Brand, Big Data und Matching wird ein Mark-Up von 20% auf die Anzahl/Kosten Likes, Comments, Shares verrechnet.

Gibt es Picstars nur in der Schweiz?

Picstars lanciert sein Produkt im Schweizer Markt, strebt jedoch im 2017 einen Markteintritt auch in Deutschland, Österreich und UK an.

Wo kommt Picstars zum Einsatz?

Es gibt drei Cases:

  1. Stars&Talents: Im Bereich Sport und Musik nutzen Stars&Talents Picstars und werden anhand ihrer Reichweite und Impact via Picstars von ihrem Sponsor (Brand) belohnt.
  2. Events&Locations: Event-Besucher nutzen Picstars oder dessen Funktionen, um mit ihrem Netzwerk ihre Eindrücke und Erlebnisse zu teilen. Die neu genutzte Reichweite übertrifft die bestehende Event-Reichweite um ein Vielfaches.
  3. Company&Product: Unternehmen setzen Picstars gezielt bei Events ein und nutzen so die Reichweite ihrer Mitarbeitenden oder Kunden, die bisher völlig ungenutzt blieb, jedoch Gold wert ist – gerade auch in Punkto Arbeitgeberattraktivität.
Kann Picstars auch in eine bestehende App integriert werden?

Ja. Die gesamten Picstars Funktionen können in jede beliebige App integriert werden.

Was ist ein Overlay?

Ein Overlay ist eine transparente Graphik (im png-Format), die den gewünschten Brand, das Logo und/oder die Werbekampagne abbildet. Der Overlay wird über die gemachten Fotos und Videso gelegt (englisch für ‚Überlagerung‘).

Kann Picstars beim Design einer Kampagne Unterstützung bieten?

Sicher. Picstars verfügt über eigene Designer, die auf CI und Online Werbekampagnen spezialisiert sind. Schicken Sie uns Ihr Kampagnen-Briefing – je detaillierter, desto besser. Gerne melden wir uns mit einer entsprechenden Einschätzung.

Stellt Picstars für einen Event Marketingmaterial zur Verfügung?

Es ist eine gute Idee mit bereitgestelltem Marketingmaterial seine Gäste über Picstars zu informieren und auch darüber, welche Preise sie gewinnen können, wenn sie Picstars nutzen. Sehr gerne unterstützen wir Sie mit möglichem Material oder kreiieren zusammen mit unserem Designer auch individuelle Flyer, Brochüren etc.

Gibt es eine Möglichkeit, Picstars vor dem definitiven Kaufentscheid auszuprobieren?

Auf jeden Fall. Sie brauchen sich lediglich in das (neue) Cockpit einzuloggen, ein Overlay upzuloaden, User zu Ihrer Kampagne einzuladen und schon kann’s losgehen. Wir werden Sie während der Testphase kontaktieren, um zukünftige Möglichkeiten und Kosten genauer zusammen anzuschauen.

Ist es möglich, als Sponsor oder Brand Manager die Performance der Fotos/Videos konstant mitzuverfolgen?

Sicher. Jeder Brand Manager hat Zugriff auf sein persönliches Picstars Cockpit. Sie haben die gesamte Kontrolle über die einzelnen Overlays der Kampagnen, die Kosten, die User, die Fotos/Videos sowie die Reichweite. Sie haben zudem die Möglichkeit, Links zur Performance an Ihre Kollegen zu schicken.

Wo liegt der Unterschied zwischen einem Event und einer Location?

Es besteht kein Unterschied. Unter einem Event verstehen wir beispielsweise ein Konzert oder ein Wettkampf. Eine Location wiederum kann ein Skiresort sein, an welchem laufend Veranstaltungen stattfinden, es News dazu gibt oder Ambassadoren anwesend sind.

Worin besteht der Unterschied zwischen den beiden Produkten “Stars&Talents” und “Company&Product”? Wie es aussieht, besteht lediglich ein Unterschied darin, dass die Kosten pro Like und Share bei “Company&Product” tiefer sind.

Dies ist sehr klar geregelt. Sobald Sie einen spezifischen oder bereits vorhandenen Ambassador für seine Social Media Reichweite entlohnen (sponsoren), nutzen Sie das unser “Stars&Talent” Produkt. Entscheiden Sie sich für eines der beiden anderen Produkte – “Events&Locations” oder “Company&Product” – erhalten Sie die gleichen Funktionalitäten, müssen jedoch Ihre möglichen Ambassadoren (i.e. Eventteilnehmer, Mitarbeiter) selbst motivieren, Picstars zu nutzen, beispielsweise anhand von Preisen (Tickets, Meet & Greet mit einem Star etc).

Was verdient ein Talent, wenn es Picstars einsetzt?

Der Verdienst wird grundsätzlich zwischen dem Brand und dem Talent geregelt. Aber: Der Brand bezahlt pro Reichweite, wobei Picstars 100% direkt an das Talent weiterleitet. Der Brand bezahlt 20% dieses Volumens für die Dienstleistung und die Lizenzfee an Picstars.

Wenn eine Agentur alles mit dem Talent verhandelt, woran verdient die Agentur?

Die Agentur verdient einen gewissen Prozent des zusätzlichen Verdienstes des Ambassador (dieser ist zwischen dem Brand und dem Talent geregelt). Dies könnte mittelfristiges Denken sein, da viele Ambassadoren bereits eine entsprechende Abmachung mit ihrem Brand haben, eine gewisse Anzahl Fotos/Videos mit Erwähnung des Brands zu veröffentlichen. Aber: da Social Media Reichweite ausschliesslich Performance basiert ist (Inhalt, Timing, Plattform, Anzahl Fans), gilt dies auch für die Bezahlung/Sponsoring. Ein Brand möchte ein Kontrollinstrument wie Picstars zur Verfügung haben. Für eine Agentur ist es wichtig auf diesen Zug aufzuspringen.

Warum muss ich eine Foto nochmals posten, wenn ich es in Instagram veröffentlichen möchte?

Instagram verfügt leider nicht über eine Programmierschnittstelle, die es fremden Apps erlaubt, direkt in Instagram zu posten oder Updates zu Performance/Reichweite zu erhalten. Deshalb hat Picstars einen extra Workaround in der App integriert und zudem ein einzigartiges Foto/Video Tool speziell für Instagram entwickelt, das die Performance/Reichweite misst. Eine echte Marktinnovation von Picstars, die mit Sicherheit Wettbewerbsvorteile mit sich bringt.

Wieviel bezahlt ein Brand für ein gebrandetes Foto, das der Ambassador postet? Was passiert, wenn ein Foto “viral” geht?

Picstars empfiehlt jedem Brand, eine Budgetlimite für seine Ambassador und die Anzahl Fotos/Videos pro Monat festzulegen. Sollte das Limit (wir nennen es ‘cap’) regelmässig erreicht werden, kann dieses problemlos angepasst werden, um eine maximale Reichweite zu erreichen.

Wer verwaltet das Cockpit?

Der Brand respektive der Picstars Kunde (das kann auch eine Agentur sein, ein Event Promoter oder ein Vertriebspartner sein).

Wem gehört das Foto mit dem Overlay? Dem Brand, dem Ambassador oder dem Social Media Kanal?

Der Besitzer ist immer der Ambassador, der das Foto/Video gemacht hat. Aber: sobald der Nutzer die Picstars App verwendet, übertragt er Picstars damit das Recht, den Inhalt dafür einzusetzen, dem Ambassador weitere Vorteile aufzuzeigen (i.e. Vorschläge für Who to Follow). Sollte der Brand die Inhalte weiter verwenden wollen, muss dies zwischen dem Brand und dem Ambassador geregelt werden. Sobald ein Inhalt auf einem Social Media Kanal veröffentlicht ist, gelten die Regeln und Richtlinien der jeweiligen Social Media Plattform. Picstars ist nicht länger verantwortlich für etwelche Reaktionen auf die Fotos/Videos.

Warum kann Picstars nur für Facebook, Twitter und Instagram verwendet werden?

Diese drei sind die beliebsten und am meisten genutzten Plattformen. Picstars jedoch kann problemlos weitere neue und spannende Plattformen intergrieren.

Wann können Videos gepostet werden?

Videos können ab November 2016 gepostet werden.

Wieviele Overlays können im Cockpit verwaltet werden?

So viele Sie möchten. Es ist auch möglich, verschiedene Overlays für verschiedene Kampagnen zu kreiieren. Diese können sogar geplant und zeitlich festgelegt werden.

Wieviele Personen kann man zu einer Kampagne einladen?

Für einen ‘Social Branding Case’ (i.e. Event, Mitarbeiteranlass) ist keine Obergrenze festlegt. Vergessen Sie jedoch nicht: Bei “Stars&Talents” können nur die ausgewählten “Stars&Talents” eingeladen werden, die für sie kreiierte Kampagne zu nutzen zusammen mit ihrem Sponsoringvolumen (Budget).

Ist es möglich, herauszufinden woher die jeweiligen Likes und Shares kommen?

Das ist aktuell leider noch nicht möglich. Picstars ist jedoch dabei, dies zukünftig anbieten zu können. Daneben werden wir in Kürze zu folgenden Themen genauere Angaben machen können: Welche Personen ihren Brand sehen, Marktsegmentierung sowie Standortdaten.

Kann man Likes kaufen?

Nein. Picstars erkennt, ob ein Like ‘real’ und somit eine hohe Qualität hat oder gekauft ist.

Bezahlt der Brand auch für Likes, die für ihn keinen Mehrwert besitzen (i.e. ein Foto einer Schweizer Versicherung erhält Likes aus Asien)

Dieser Streuverlust ist im Pricing berücksichtigt. Aber: Picstars arbeitet daran, nur die ‘wertvollen’ Likes im Budget zu berücksichtigen.

Wo liegt der Unterschied zwischen Picstars und einem anderen Unternehmen, das sich auf Influencer Marketing spezialisiert hat?

Picstars bringt Brand und Influencer (Ambassador) zusammen. Mit seiner Technologie ermöglicht Picstars den perfekten March zwischen dem Brand und dem Ambassador sowie dem gebrandeten Foto dank der passenden Werbekampagne. Das Ziel ist es, die höchste Qualität an “Word-of-Mouth” in den sozialen Netzwerken zu erreichen. Ausserdem bietet Picstars ein Tool (Cockpit für Brands, eine App für Ambassadoren) und verrechnet nur die effective Reichweite und Performance.

Was ist der durchschnittliche Verdienst eines Talents pro Foto/Video?

Dieser hängt von der Anzahl Fans und Friends ab sowie der Qualität der Inhalte (Fotos/Videos). Das ist der interessante Teil: in den sozialen Medien ist ein Ambassador nur so gut wie seine Posts. Mit Picstars lernen sowohl der Brand wie der Ambassador sehr schnell, welcher Post funktioniert und welcher weniger.

Gibt es nicht einen Übersättigung an gebrandeten Fotos in den sozialen Netzwerken?

Werbung über “Mund-zu-Mund” (Word-of-Mouth) wird immer eine gewichtige Rolle spielen, solange die Werbebotschaft vertrauenswürdig ist. Nochmals, aus diesem Grund setzen wir viel Energie in das Matching von Brand und Talent ein sowie in die Möglichkeit, sofort ein cooles Fotos/Videos zu posten.

Kann ein Brand auf ein Foto/Video reagieren, dass seinen Richtlinien oder Wünschen nicht entspricht?

Zusammen mit den Kontaktangaben des Ambassadors hat der Brand einen live Überblick über sämtliche Bewegungn auf den sozialen Plattformen. Ein Brand hat die Möglichkeit, ein Foto/Video im Cockpit zu löschen oder einen Ambassador zu verwarnen. Wir haben jedoch bis jetzt noch nie irgendwelche Probleme diesbezüglich erlebt. Solange der Ambassador mit einem Ziel postet (Geld zu verdienen, Preise zu gewinnen) ist ein Missbrauch nicht zu erwarten.